Our History

connecticut_mapThe CIPLA was originally founded in 1946 as the Connecticut Patent Law Association to promote a standard of ethics within the profession of patent attorneys. In 2001 the association change its name to the CIPLA to broaden its scope and recognize the relationship between patent law and other fields of intellectual property law. The association now has approximately 150 members who meet on a regular basis continuing the associations goals of promoting a standard of ethics and professionalism among its members.

Find out more about the association:

CIPLA Officers 2021-2022


Benjamin White, President
Murtha Cullina LLP
107 Elm Street, Four Stamford Plaza
Stamford, CT 06902
t: (203) 653-5417

Anne Maxwell, Vice President
Cantor Colburn, LLP
20 Church Street
22nd Floor
Hartford, CT 06103
t: (860) 286-2929

Jeffrey J. Scepanski, Secretary
Ohlandt, Greeley, Ruggiero & Perle, LLP
One Landmark Square, 10th Floor
Stamford, CT 06901
T: (203) 327-4500 x 154
F: (203)-327-6401

Joseph Romagnano, Treasurer
Grogan, Tuccillo & Vanderleeden, LLP
1350 Main Street, Suite 508
Springfield, MA 01103
t: (413) 736-5401

Melissa Tharp, Program Chair
Melissa A. Tharp, Attorney at Law
83 Wooster Heights Road
Suite 125
Danbury, CT 06810
c: (248) 882-8388

CIPLA Board of Governors

Michael Cartona
Ian J.S. Lodovice
Scott Lydon
Erica Dorsey
Benjamin J. Lehberger
Grant Ehrlich